Tutor Profile

Desmond Lim Kok Heng (15516)

Teacher Display Picture
  • Views: 42
  • Last updated on 18 Aug 14
  • Feedback of Parents/Students:
Shortlist
Tuition Areas [...]
Sengkang, North East, Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Bukit Timah, Central (City), Geylang/Macpherson/Eunos, Pasir Ris, Potong Pasir, Serangoon, Tampines/Simei, Toa Payoh, Changi, Expo, Kembangan, Boon Keng, Braddell, Farrer Park
Qualification
Undergraduate
Tuition Background
Full-Time
Tuition/Teaching Experience
I've been tutoring my cousins and siblings ever since I had the ability to, and this started during my time in Raffles Junior College.

Right now it is my last semester in Singapore Management University and I would like to teach as much of the subjects that I love as possible as I have passion for teaching. Like my father, who is also a teacher/lecturer in my JC, he has taught me many valuable lessons with regards to teaching, and thus I can effectively apply these soft skills to my future students.
Education [...]
  • Singapore Management University (2010-2014)
    • Economics (JC) - A
    • Maths (JC) - B
    • Physics (JC) - A
    • Chemistry (JC) - B
    • SMU GPA - 3.40
  • Raffles Junior College (2006-2007)
    • Econs - A
    • Math - B
    • Physics - A
    • Chem - B
SHOW MORE
Tutoring Subjects
  • Primary level - English Higher Chinese Higher Maths Science 
  • Lower secondary level - English Mathematics 
  • Upper secondary level - English Physics 
  • Junior college level - Economics General Paper 
  • Music - Drums - Theory (Beginner), Practical (Advanced)
Commitment / Other Details
My Major in SMU is Economics and Corporate Communications (Business).

I've available every weeknight except for Thursdays, and I can do afternoons as well (if school ends early for my students).

Right now my only school days for SMU are Monday and Tuesday so I am pretty flexible, and extra lessons regarding Sec 4, P6 students are definitely welcome.

I am willing to teach JC levels Economics as that is my major, and I would prefer to teach Secondary school level education.
Rapport Building
I am the eldest in the family, and also among my cousins. I've basically learnt how to cater to the needs and wants of my siblings etc and I'm very confident that I'll be able to connect with my future students if necessary. I also pride myself in being a responsible individual when it comes to taking care of commitments and responsibilities, as can be seen from juggling my hectic schoolwork, project meet-ups, and also working part-time in one of my favourite Cafes in Singapore (passion for service and Coffee-making :) )

I've also lead my school CCA Samba Masala (Afro-Brazilian Percussion Group) as Training Director and we've graced many performances and gigs with our corporate clients, and even travelled overseas to Germany in 2012 as we were invited to the biggest Samba Festival in Europe. Thus I'm also confident in building rapport with parents and elders alike.
Keeping Up with Curriculum
I'm constantly refreshed with the curriculum with regards to secondary school physics and JC level economics. I'm most confident in these subjects as they are easy to me and the concepts are still fresh in my head due to me encountering them most of the time when teaching my cousins and siblings.

As for JC level economics, it's bread and butter for me due to me being in contact with it everyday in University.
As a Good Tutor
I'm confident that the experience that I've stated above will allow me to become a good tutor. I've only decided to come out to teach now rather than earlier because I want to put my time to good use, and also make sure that I can contribute to something meaningful to society. Helping students has always been something I've been doing in SMU and before as I'll constantly help out my juniors whenever they need help with economics or business related subjects.

I am confident that you will definitely be able to trust me with your children in bringing their education to the next level. Thank you!
Accept Below Average Rate?
No
Handle Special Needs Children?
No
Age
20-29
Parent/Student Comments
Assignments Taken
Nil
    HIDE