What Is Yoga?

by James Tang (1511 views)
(0) | Rate this:
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes

Yoga, or the literal meaning of “adding to” and “to unite with”, is a practice that aims to hone the body both physically and mentally. At its core, yoga is a spiritual practice that first originated from India from pre-Vedic Indian cultures. Although first spread to the Western civilisation in the early 20th century as a form of exercise, traditional yoga embodies both spiritual and meditative characteristics that aims to help people around the world transcend from their very beings.

What Is the Aim of Yoga Throughout the Years?

Today, modern yoga has transformed into both therapy and active exercise for both the young and the old of all gender, releasing them from the busy hub-hub of life. The ultimate goal of yoga however, aims to control both the body and mind while pursuing a particular goal. Although different principles of yoga have been developed over the years, the core meaning remains true in itself, often with the practitioner looking for enlightenment of his consciousness at the final stages.

How Does Yoga Work to Enhance Your Life?

For yoga, it is good to know more about the human body and its intricacies, along with the many layers and energy that channels through the body’s passages before diving straight into the physical aspect of the practice. You would want to understand the art of the practice and strive towards an end result rather than blindly follow the art without a sense of direction.

This is otherwise known as the yoga physiology.  One of the most common physiology is the “Chakras” or energy centres in your body that are located at major networks of arteries, veins and nerves. These chakra points are connected by energy channels known as nadiis and in it flows the life force that powers our everyday movements.

 All there is to know is that the main 7 chakra points are the most important in the body and need to be open for the body to function at an optimum level. The seven chakra points are: Crown Chakra, Third-Eye Chakra, Throat Chakra, Heart Chakra, Solar Plexus Chakra, Sexual Chakra and the Root Chakra. Many religions adopt the same concept of chakra and seem to have similar goals as yoga. In short, yoga aims to keep these channels functional and flowing, allowing you to lead a well-balanced life.


With the great acceptance of yoga throughout the world, it is not too late to start learning about this ancient practice and kick-start your journey to a better life.  The introduction of International Day of Yoga since 11 December 2014 on 21 June each year proves how popular this art has developed over the years and is without a doubt an endearing art form.